Bryan Brothers Logo
IZOD Logo Baume & Mercier Logo Barracuda Logo Tourna Grip Logo KT Tape Moto Solinco Logo  

Bryans Win Unimagined Golden Slam

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan achieved a historic “Bryan Bros. Slam” on Saturday as they won their 15th Grand Slam championship
at Wimbledon. The 35-year-old twins became the first team to hold all four major titles and the Olympic gold medal as they
defeated Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo 3-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-4.

Having won the first three major championships of the season, the Bryans also have the chance to become the first team in the
Open Era to win the calendar Grand Slam. Not since Ken McGregor and Frank Sedgman in 1951 has a team won all four
Grand Slams in a season.

The Bryans won a record-breaking 13th major title with victory at the Australian Open in January (d. Haase/Sijsling) and followed
with success at Roland Garros last month (d. Llodra/Mahut). Last year they went on a tear during the summer, winning gold at the
London 2012 Olympics (d. Llodra/Tsonga) and triumphing at the US Open (d. Paes/Stepanek).

The Bryans won their 91st team title and ninth of the season. They came into The Championships on a wave of momentum and
have won 24 matches in a row. Since finishing runners-up in the Monte-Carlo final in April (l. to Benneteau/Zimonjic), they have
swept to five straight titles in Madrid (d. Peya/Soares), Rome (d. Bhupathi/Bopanna), Roland Garros, The Queen’s Club
(d. Peya/Soares) and finally at Wimbledon.  

It is the third time the Bryans have triumphed at the All England Club. They previously lifted the trophy in 2006 (d. Santoro/Zimonjic)
and 2011 (d. Lindstedt/Tecau), while also reaching the finals in 2005 (l. to Huss/Moodie), 2007 (l. to Clement/Llodra) and 2009
(l. to Nestor/Zimonjic).

- Courtesy of ATP